Home | Print Page | Contact Us | Report Abuse | Sign In | Join
Surveying Excellence
Share |



  • This award is open to anyone who has made an outstanding contribution, or has performed outstanding service to the surveying profession. 
  • It is not necessary for a candidate to be a surveyor (e.g., an attorney, educator, cartographer, historian, or politician may be nominated for their contribution).  
  • The nominee does not have to be a member of NSPS.  
  • The contributions made by the nominee need not have occurred in the current, or immediately preceding year. 
  • Candidates for the award must be nominated by a NSPS Affiliate, or two (2) NSPS members at large. 
  • If nominated by a NSPS affiliate, two (2) officers of the organization must sign the nomination. 
  • If nominated by two (2) NSPS members at large, the nomination must be signed by the sponsors and accompanied by a letter of recommendation signed by two additional NSPS members. 
  • Each nomination must include a narrative stating the reasons why the sponsors feel the nominee is deserving of this honor, specific accomplishments the nominee has made toward the profession, and biographical data that can be used in the award presentation. 
  • Nominees from the previous year, who did not receive the award, may be re-nominated by a letter from the original sponsors stating they would like the person re-nominated for the present year’s award.  
  • Any additional information or plaudits may be included in this letter and must be signed by two (2) members of the nominating affiliate, or the two (2) original nominating NSPS members. 
  • The panel of judges will be comprised of four (4) NSPS Directors appointed by the NSPS President. 
  • Each judge appointed from the NSPS Board of Directors shall serve for a period of two years and will be appointed in sets of two judges each with one set being appointed each year. 
  • The following factors will be considered by the panel of judges in determining the recipient of the award: 
  • Service to the profession
  • Service outside the profession
  • Types of survey activities
  • Publications
  • Legislative effort
  • Improvements in, or refinement of, surveying equipment and techniques
  • Recognition as a professional leader
  • Membership and activities in surveying and related professional organizations
  • Other factors demonstrating breadth of professionalism, activities, and development 
  • The foregoing is not listed in ranking order.  Judges shall consider the overall nomination using these factors as guidelines. 
  • The judges will rate the nominees on a scale of 1 to 5, with 1 being the highest.  
  • The Committee Chair will tally the scores.  The nominee having the lowest score shall be the recipient of the award.
  • If the judges feel there is no sufficiently worthy candidate, they will note so on their ballot. 
  • The NSPS Board of Director judges from this committee shall also serve as the judges for the NSPS AFFILIATE OF THE YEAR AWARD. 


Nominations due by June 30, 2020

Mail Nominations to:


Attn: Surveying Excellence Award

5119 Pegasus Court, Suite Q

Frederick, MD 21704


5119 Pegasus Court Suite Q
Frederick, MD 21704

Phone: 240-439-4615
Fax: 240-439-4952

Copyright © 2018 National Society of Professional Surveyors